In the 1880's, Hial's two sons, Loammi and Samuel, took over the family business. They continued the livery stable and also ran a stage coach passenger service between Whitinsville, Douglas, and Worcester. This second generation of Carr funeral directors managed the funeral parlor, which was located on the first floor of the Oddfellows Hall on Cottage Street, into the 20th century.
In 1910, Morton H. Carr, Samuel's son, became the first in the family to formally study funeral directing and embalming when he enrolled at Professor Renouard's School of Embalming in New York. During Morton's tenure, he introduced the first motorized hearse to the area, and also used it as an ambulance. During the influenza epidemic of 1918, and continuing until 1942 when the Whitin Machine Works took over, the Carr family provided ambulance service for the town of Northbridge.
Morton's son, Douglas S. Carr, was licensed as a funeral director in 1941, and upon returning from service in World War II, took over management of the family business. In 1947, he and his wife, Nora, purchased the former Taft estate on Hill Street, and relocated the funeral home from its well-known Cottage Street storefront to our current stately Victorian Mansion location.
Doug, Jr. followed in his family's footsteps to become a funeral director; he became licensed in 1974. When his father semi-retired in 1984, Doug and his wife, Jo-Anne, became the fifth generation of Carrs to operate the funeral home.
In 2013, Heather Carr Reiter, the oldest daughter of Doug and Jo-Anne, became a licensed funeral director and embalmer, proudly carrying on the family tradition of funeral service into a sixth generation.
Looking forward to the second half of our second century as caregivers, we welcome the opportunity to continue our family tradition, drawing on the knowledge and experience we have gained from our history, and applying that knowledge to the challenges yet to come.